1996 Forum Elections: Candidates in West Tyrone

mapresults graph

The following list of candidates is arranged in order of votes by party. The names in bold are those of the candidates elected in the constituency of West Tyrone. (spreadsheet) 

Social Democratic and Labour Party: 11,622 (28.4%): Joe Byrne, Paddy McGowan, Ignatius Murtagh, Seamus Shields

Sinn Féin: 11,516 (28.1%): Barry McElduff, Patrick McMahon, Francis Mackey, Patrick Watters, Padraigin Ui Mhurdchadha

Ulster Unionist Party: 7,327 (17.9%): Derek Hussey, William Oldcroft, Edward Turner, Desmond Anderson, James Emery

Democratic Unionist Party: 6,727 (16.4%): Oliver Gibson, Thomas Kerrigan

Alliance Party: 1,081 (2.6%): Ann Gormley, Elizabeth McCaffrey, John Devine

Labour: 792 (1.9%): John McLaughlin, Michael Duffy, Anton McCabe, Manus Maguire

Ulster Democratic Party: 397 (1.0%): Thomas Lowry, Stephen Taylor

United Kingdom Unionist Party: 292 (0.7%): Dennis Wickersham, John McNeil

Progressive Unionist Party: 238 (0.6%): Eileen Ward, George McDermott

Northern Ireland Women's Coalition: 185 (0.5%): Helena Schlindwein, Maria McGilloway, Frances Donaghy

Green Party: 158 (0.4%): Ben Ryan, Carolyn Bell, Donald Spencer

Workers Party: 169 (0.4%): Hugh Mullan, John Doherty

Democratic Left: 130 (0.3%): P J McClean, Teresa McVeigh, Mary Veronica McElroy, Martin McCay

The Conservative Party: 119 (0.3%): Lindsay Cumming, Julian Robertson

Ulster Independence Movement: 107 (0.3%): Sandra Jones, Stanley Hayes, Richard Button

Natural Law Party: 45 (0.1%): John McCallen, Denis Nelson

Independent Chambers: 30 (0.07%): Mandy Beattie, Heather Ewart

Electorate: 57,348; votes cast: 41,146; spoilt votes: 211 (0.5%); valid votes: 40,935

Full list of 1996 candidates: East Belfast | North Belfast | South Belfast | West Belfast | East Antrim | North Antrim | South Antrim | North Down | South Down | Fermanagh and South Tyrone | Foyle | Lagan Valley | East Londonderry | Mid Ulster | Newry and Armagh | Strangford | West Tyrone | Upper Bann | Regional List

Other sites based at ARK: ORB (Online Research Bank) | CAIN (Conflict Archive on the INternet) | Northern Ireland Life and Times Survey

Your comments, please! Send an email to me at nicholas.whyte@gmail.com.

This page has been developed with the support of a project grant from the New Initiatives Fund of the Electoral Commission. However, any views expressed on this page or, in particular, other pages of this website are those of the author and not necessarily shared by The Electoral Commission.
Tineke Vaes, 15 May 2003

Disclaimer:© Nicholas Whyte 1998-2004 Last Updated on Wednesday, 12-Jan-2005 12:12