1996 Forum Elections: Candidates in Newry and Armagh

mapresults graph

The following list of candidates is arranged in order of votes by party. The names in bold are those of the candidates elected in the constituency of Newry and Armagh.  (spreadsheet)

Social Democratic and Labour Party: 16,775 (34.1%): Seamus Mallon, Frank Feeley, Pat Brannigan, Mary McLeown, John Fee

Sinn Féin: 12,585 (25.6%): Patrick McNamee, Maria Caraher, Noel Sheridan, Brendan Curran, Caoimhghin O'Caolain

Ulster Unionist Party: 11,047 (22.5%): James Speers, Daniel Kennedy, Elaine McClure, Sylvia McRoberts

Democratic Unionist Party: 4,774 (9.8%): Meredith Patterson, Margaret Black, John McKew

Alliance Party of Northern Ireland: 1,037 (2.1%): Pete Whitcroft, Anne-Marie Cunningham

Progressive Unionist Party: 640 (1.4%): David Jamison, Raymond Laverty

United Kingdom Unionist Party: 474 (0.9%): Robert St-Cyr, Margaret Thomson

Northern Ireland Women's Coalition: 356 (0.7%): Sheila Fairon, Lynd Roper, Kathleen Magee

262 (0.5%): Eimear Duffy, Marian McKeown, Eamon Duffy, Eoin McGuinness

Ulster Democratic Party: 257 (0.5%): William Garrett, Alan Hewitt

Workers Party: 208 (0.4%): Dennis Carroll, Vivian Hutchinson, Mary Campbell, James McConville, Pat Smith

Green Party: 205 (0.4%): Vincent MacDowell, Tara Foley

Ulster Independence Movement: 173 (0.3%): William Frazer, John Gray

The Conservative Party: 131 (0.3%): Sarah Humphreys, Jennifer Cumming

Democratic Partnership: 114 (0.2%): Ronald Dawson, Donal Kelly

Independent Democratic Unionist Party: 55 (0.1%): Nigel Cummings, John Whitten

Democratic Left: 46 (0.09%): Brendan Montague, Orla McClean

Natural Law Party: 31 (0.06%): Eileen Leahy, Miguel Martin-Ramos

Independent Chambers:
12 (0.03%): Stella Irvine, Sharon Ralston

Electorate: 69,887; votes cast: 49,347; spoilt votes: 165 (0.3%); valid votes: 49,182

Full list of 1996 candidates: East Belfast | North Belfast | South Belfast | West Belfast | East Antrim | North Antrim | South Antrim | North Down | South Down | Fermanagh and South Tyrone | Foyle | Lagan Valley | East Londonderry | Mid Ulster | Newry and Armagh | Strangford | West Tyrone | Upper Bann | Regional List

Other sites based at ARK: ORB (Online Research Bank) | CAIN (Conflict Archive on the INternet) | Northern Ireland Life and Times Survey

Your comments, please! Send an email to me at nicholas.whyte@gmail.com.

This page has been developed with the support of a project grant from the New Initiatives Fund of the Electoral Commission. However, any views expressed on this page or, in particular, other pages of this website are those of the author and not necessarily shared by The Electoral Commission.
Tineke Vaes, 15 May 2003

Disclaimer:© Nicholas Whyte 1998-2004 Last Updated on Wednesday, 12-Jan-2005 12:12